Saturday Outing- La Note and La Parque

We try and spend Saturdays as a family doing something the kids will really love, and that will wear them out good for the afternoon so us parents can do things we really love.  It’s normally a trade-off of me doing something during the day, and my husband driving off in his Harley for a night ride. We don’t have a nanny on the weekends, so don’t tend to go out once the wee ones are down.

We’ve had La Note on our list of outings for a bit now, but had to find a weekend that we could get up early so we could avoid the “infamous lines” per Yelp. I was really looking forward to European food.  I am not a fan of the American baked good.  We arrived at 8am, and were let right in with a few other early birds.  No wait, which was GREAT since we would have had a nuclear melt down with the little ones.  So the food… I’ll Yelp, because seriously the place is WAY over hyped.

I ordered the strawberry milk, which was sweet and fresh and smelled delicious. My son scooped off all the top layer of foam, and commandeered the rest for himself.

Contemplating the deliciousness of strawberries

VERY adorable atmosphere, super quaint and Euro cafe feeling with little baskets hanging from the ceiling.  The food did take a bit to come out, but I figured that meant it would taste fresh and warm and be fully of heavenly deliciousness. I planned for this though and had toys for the kiddos.

So the food wasn’t all that great at the end of the day, and we ordered an assortment so we could try things out.  My husband was a bigger fan.

  • Raspberry Oatmeal.  Tart raspberry flavor and nice oatmeal consistency.  Not bad if you’re up for  bowl of oatmeal.
  • Raspberry Oatmeal pancake spongy, light, not too heavy, not too sweet.  Not as raspberryie as I would have expected, but not bad.
  • Lemon Ginger Pancakes with Pears- I was really expecting this to be amazing.  I wasn’t in love with it, and thought the baking soda taste was a bit strong.  Pears helped, but still was expecting a lot more out of this dish based on the menu description.
  • Brioche French Toast- It was okay, a bit chewy, not awful like most breakfast french toast places, but for an “Amazing” French Toast place, I’ve had better.  Softer, more flavorful, just all around better.  I don’t know what all of the “lavender butter” and “orange water” reviews were referring to, other than the menu stating it.  Nothing jumped out to my tongue enough for me to call specific attention to it in any review.

Either way, not too bad, but not the BEST I’ve had (Jeannine’s in Santa Barbara much better).

Post heavy breakfast, we hit up the Walnut Creek park (parque as the kid calls it)  with the kiddos.  That I think everyone would give four stars.

 

Leave a Reply

